top of page

How to Fall in Love with Every Day

By Tillie Moore


As much as I hate to admit it, the recent dreary weather has affected my typically positive attitude. Smaller tasks seem much more intimidating and the outdoors are much less inviting. Something that has helped me through this recent lack of motivation is finding the little, splendid things in the bigger picture. Let's surround ourselves with things that make us feel good. It's the simple pleasures that make the world go round, and if you’re able to find the beauty in everyday activities you will be able to look forward to everything else. For my sake, and hopefully for yours too, I'm going to make an effort to note some of the smaller things I love in everyday life and how my perspective can change how I see the ones I don’t love so much.


I try not to think, “dang, I have to walk to class in the rain.” Rather, I think of it as a time to listen to more of one of my favorite podcasts. Depending on the genre you are listening to, your cold walk can suddenly be warmed with a story or a voice that sounds like a friend. I currently love true crime and conspiracy theory podcasts. I no longer feel like I am stressfully trudging to class, rather I am rewarding myself by uncovering the next part of the mystery.


Grocery shopping can be tedious. Planning out meals is tough and sometimes just making it to the store with our busy schedules is an effort in itself. But Trader Joe's is pretty awesome. Rather than dreading an errand, I am eager to do it. The welcoming store doesn't give too many food options so I never feel overwhelmed, and the foods specific to Trader Joe's continuously bring zest to my cart. Whether purposeful or not, without fail, the staff makes me feel special. On my most recent grocery run, “Mr. Jones” by the Counting Crows was playing and I swear half of the store was dancing.

This year, I am living in a house. While I do love it, new responsibilities have appeared. I’ve been trying to look at cleaning my kitchen and shared spaces not as a chore, but as a time to put on some tunes and hang out with my roommates. Though I know I will be scrubbing, sweeping, and organizing, going in with the mindset that it’ll be a time to debrief our weeks and sing along to upbeat songs makes all the difference.


No matter what the scale is, I’ve realized that my perspective on something completely changes how I feel about it. While I might not always feel the most confident, I always love the freckle on my left cheek. Although I don't like that it gets dark early, I love that I don't need to wait as long to see the sunset. I love how it smells right after it rains, hearing my friends laugh on my porch, and seeing the daffodils bloom on campus. Finding your own little obsessions in life makes everything more exciting.


18 views
bottom of page