top of page

My Summer Trend Prediction


If you’re anything like me and want to look on-trend this summer, and don’t want to buy a million pieces that won’t be in style in three months- I have some good news for you.


There is nothing wrong with having specific trendy pieces- who knows, maybe things we view now as “trendy” will actually be here to stay for a while. I definitely think that the platform sandals that Lizzy McGuire would be proud of will be around for a while.


I for one know that I am not ready to give up my corset and bustier-inspired tops that I live out my best Bridgerton daydreams in.





Some trends I want to focus on are the trends that aren’t trendy- let me explain. I think it is important to develop your own style- try and be your own person inside and out, without being said, I still like following trends. I am going to outline some trends that I ~hope~ last more than a few months. This way we can all help our ever-developing style while not feeling some serious style fomo.


  1. Living Luckily in Linen

If you have never worn linen, or more specifically linen pants- please immediately go to any store and purchase a pair.





Don’t like the idea of linen pants- that's fine- but please at least buy a linen button-up shirt. Comfort and luxurious feelings are very close to follow. All I am saying is that if your goal is to live out Mamma Mia this summer- whether it be vacationing on an island or lounging on a boat, linen is your best friend. Close your eyes and bear with me- imagine you’re on a beautiful boat at sunset, no worries in the world, you are wearing flowy linen pants to fight against the ocean’s chill, a loose unbuttoned button-down shirt and sunglasses. Now tell me that isn’t the things dreams are made of. Not only are they simple elegance at its finest but they are light-weight. I prefer wearing pants all year round and linen pants make the summer sun not as formidable as an opponent in the summer.


  1. Bargaining Brown for Beige

I don’t need to remind anyone of the resurgence of brown in the past year. Whether it was dying your own clothes or companies buying all the brown fabric they could buy- all I could see was brown for a while- and I wasn’t mad. However, I am always practical and brown+sun= heatstroke. Of course, you could wear brown summer clothing and still look absolutely gorgeous, but I propose wearing beige instead. In my oh-so-ever-humble opinion, I tend to wear lighter colors in the summer and spring and darker colors in the fall and winter- I find that the lighter color clothes in turn tend to be lighter, which leads to practicality. If your intent is to look tan- as it is a lot of people- lighter colors are a tool that will help you achieve that goal.





Take it from me, a distant cousin to Caspar the Ghost, when I wear even a taupe-colored tank top- instead of alabaster, I turn to a lovely eggshell color.



  1. Funky Flared (F)Pants

Much to many people’s dismay (including my own), low-waisted pants are here and are unpacking their luggage to stay for a while. I feel we all go through the same song and dance of “I love low-waisted pants on you, but just not on me”. Well, this summer I am issuing a formal challenge to just fuck it and wear low-waisted pants. It is also no secret that flared pants are in. Fashion will always be cyclical and right now we are in a clusterfuck of the 90's/2000’s and the 70’s. What goes perfectly with both?





Whether it is a subtle flare that liberally goes out from the mid-calf or Alabama sorority girl flare that creates a tent from the knees- flared anything will be in. Throw on a little solid-colored


-shirt t shirt or baby tee and you have the cutest outfit with minimal effort.


  1. Adorable Accessories are Actual Achievable

I feel like when I was younger I never wore accessories because I never saw the point of just extra things. What I have grown to learn is that accessories are the way an outfit truly transforms. Here are a few accessories that can elevate any look. Beaded or wicker bags are 100% amazing.





Whether you buy them yourself or try your hand in making them, not only are they perfect for any and all activities, I am sure they will be around for a while. Speaking of DIY, crochet everything anything- I’ll take ten, please. Not only are crochet bags, bucket hats, bikinis, and so much more just incredibly cute, it's also a great way to support small businesses or to even pick up the hobby yourself.




bottom of page