top of page

Staff Interview- Sophia Prince, Photographer

Written by Abigail Portwood


I had the privilege to talk to Sophia Prince, a photographer at Align Magazine. Prince shared great insight on the creative process, obstacles and sources of inspiration to her work.


What is your role within Align magazine?


Sophia: “Right now I am a photographer, my first role I was a photographer and an art director.”


What is something that you have learned about yourself while working with Align?


Sophia: “I have never really taken photos creatively before; I have mostly done photojournalism and I have learned that I also love the creative side of photography.”


What are some challenges you have faced in your position?


Sophia: “Trying to make the models feel their best while getting the most creative and fun angles can be an interesting dynamic. Trying to find angles that aren’t cliche and trying to get creative shots.”


How do you see this experience helping you in your future?


Sophia: “I have a lot of work I can add to my portfolio and my website, and it gives me really good experience working through the whole creative process like working with my editor, coming up with a creative shot, working with art directors, models, writers and illustrators to come up with a project we all like. It requires a lot of collaboration.”


What aspects of your life do you draw inspiration from?


Sophia: “I want my photography and my work in general to be playful, so I draw a lot of inspiration from my friends who are fun, colorful people. They inspire me all the time and I live with some awesome people who inspire me often.”


Do you have any artists or photographers that you admire?


Sophia: “I mostly do journalism work, so I’m really inspired by Lynsey Addario. I’m also really inspired by music and the art that accompanies music. I love the art on Portugal. The Man and covers similar to those. I’m really into some Instagram artists, like Kindah Khalidy and her use of color and shapes and other pieces of abstract art like hers.”


What happens if you don’t like something you’ve made? How do you overcome the struggle of something not being “right”?


Sophia: “This is really important because I’m still learning so much. I look back at my past art and think that it could be better, and I don’t think it’s the best thing ever because I’m still learning. In my first years of work, it would be weird to me if I reached something that I thought was “perfection”. It is hard to look back at my old work and think it's not very good, but I can see the progression of my work and that’s the only way to get better.”


What does success in your art mean to you?


Sophia: “Creating something that I like, and something that is meaningful beyond the initial image. I want my art to say something, and not just be there for pure aesthetics.”



Thank you, Sophia, for giving us insight on your creative process as well as your position and what that entails.


bottom of page