top of page

Changes in Routine

Written by Moriah Arnold


It is no secret that since this time last year the whole world looks different. I went from living with my best friend in our downtown Eugene apartment to moving back home with my parents at the age of 19, going on 20. I look back on my life a year ago and feel disconnected to the person that once was. I used to have no problem going to the store, or sitting inside a coffee shop, or being inside of my friends houses. Now, all of those things have an added risk factor. I went from riding my bike everyday to barely leaving the confines of my bedroom.


Though this pandemic is less than favorable, it has given me a chance to step back and look at who I once was. Moving back home and being isolated from my “Eugene self” has given me insight into what was working for me and what I desperately need to work on to better my mental health and overall wellbeing.


With all that being said, here are some things I have recently been incorporating in my daily routine that I would highly recommend!


Starting off the morning without immediately turning to your phone


This is one of the hardest things for me to do personally, but with the added screen time from zoom classes, this is one of the most important points I will emphasize. If at all possible, try to start the first 30 minutes to an hour of your day without being attached to your phone. Instead try to focus on making yourself a great breakfast or preparing yourself for whatever you have to do that day. Focus on being present instead of immediately turning to a distraction


Make your bed


Now, this might come off as cheesy or cliché, but it can make a huge difference. A year ago I could not be bothered to make my bed, but now, since I spend a lot of my time in my bedroom, it sets me up to have a more productive day. Making the bed is also something that takes around 5 minutes or less, so, if you are able to do that, I would highly recommend it.


Do something you genuinely enjoy for at least 10 minutes each day


This is both the easiest and the hardest thing to do, but it is also very important and can usually be incorporated into your daily activities. This falls in line with the first suggestion (somewhat) because rather than turning to social media, maybe try going for a walk, reading a book, journaling, or even meditating. Spending some time to focus on things that you genuinely enjoy is a great use of time and something that, personally, makes me feel happier and more accomplished.


Try to drink enough water


Drinking enough water throughout the day is another one of those things that is actually harder to achieve than it sounds. Honestly just being aware of when you are feeling dehydrated or low-energy, drinking water will help so much more.


Make a list of goals for the day that are realistic


Mostly in terms of being productive overall, it is important to set realistic goals for yourself. When we set big goals, but can’t easily achieve them, we will often get burnt out and no longer deem it important to keep working on those things. Especially with trying to balance school, social life, and just living a healthy, sustainable lifestyle overall, it is important to have those easy to reach goals. This one also potentially will take more planning, and seeing where you can fit these mini-goals into your everyday life. However, when/if you do start to do this, you will notice how worth it, and how easy it becomes over time.


Try to get enough sleep


Last, but certainly not least, try to get enough sleep. Everyone is different in terms of how much sleep you need to be functional throughout the day, but pulling constant all nighters is not ideal. I know how hard it can be in college to get all of your homework done and also get enough sleep, but, especially now, getting enough sleep is crucial. Sleep greatly improves your memory and it is great for problem solving.


I also just want to say that some of these goals might not be achievable and that is okay. The key word here is to try to incorporate some of these if you are able to do so. This past year has been incredibly difficult for many reasons, and there is a ton of added stress, so it is important to try and put your mental/health and wellbeing first.


Here are some further readings/videos to get you started:





bottom of page