top of page

If It’s a Maybe, It’s a No – Blueprints for Decluttering Your Closet

Cover photo and written by Natalie Schechtel


Spring cleaning has always been something that I get excited for. Deep cleaning my room, going through boxes filled with miscellaneous objects that I have forgotten about for the last 3 years, dusting and wiping down neglected surfaces, and my favorite, purging my closet! Only I’m not one that finds it easy to let things, such as clothing, go.


It takes a lot of energy for me to go through every item of clothing that I own. I open my closet in hopes that the barricade of cotton sweaters and jean jackets don’t come towering down on top of me. And yet, I take a deep breath and pull the first sweater off its hanger. My spring cleaning has begun.


I feel like a lot of people come face to face with the though, “Well, I might wear it. Therefore, I will keep it.” This is a recipe for a disaster and overflowing drawers.


So, before you start diving deep into the “closet abyss,” let’s sit down and figure out how we’re going to do this.


Here’s what I’m thinking:


1. Start by selecting a designated spot in your room for the clothes that you are going to keep for sure. It can be in a basket, on your bed or, hey, throw it on the ground – but in an organized manner, of course.


2. You guessed it, make a spot for clothes that you are donating. In my experience, using a black garbage bag works best. That way, you can’t see any of the clothes that you’ve stuffed in there stirring you away from second guessing your choices. Genius, right?


3. Start slow. This is the simplest thing you can do. Taking everything out all at once will only make you overwhelmed and want to throw everything in the air and yell. Yes, I’m describing a recent moment that I had, but that’s not the point. Focus.


4. Go through everything in categories. Start with shirts, they're the easiest if you ask me. My biggest struggle is my sweater collection, but now is not the time to wade into that.


5. Moving on! Make sure you’re keeping an eye out for obvious indicators that it’s time to let it go. That mean, holes in the armpits, small stains, clothing that look very worn out, you get the point.


6. One thing you should always do is try on the clothes that you are thinking about keeping. You don’t want to keep something that is too big or too small.


7. Voila! You’ve done it! You have successfully spring cleaned your wardrobe. Now go donate everything and never look back!


When next year’s spring-cleaning season comes around, I ask you to remember this one thing: If it’s a maybe, it’s a no.


bottom of page