top of page

Dance is My Escape

Written by Lilly Fox


I’m in my feels, so I put my Airpods in. I put my songs on shuffle and let the process begin. Dance is my escape.


Songs range from “If The World Was Ending” by JP Saxe and Julia Michaels to “Therefore I Am” by Billie Eilish. Anything and everything to process my emotions. Dance is my escape.


Legs, turns, and leaps. On and off the floor. Contemporary and hip hop. Dance is my escape.


For the last few years dance has been my safe place. I can let everything go and use my movements instead of words. There’s an indescribable feeling that comes with dancing. I feel free and secure. I’m able to pour my whole self into dance.


When I’m at my worst or at my best, I love to dance. It gives me the space to do something for myself and feel everything. Dance is one of those powerful ways of processing feelings. In addition to dance being very therapeutic, it’s also great exercise. I’m able to do something for my body, while also doing something for my mind.


Even if you’re not a dancer, dance is a great way to let loose and shake things off. Next time you’re sad, happy, or mad, crank up the volume to 100 and play whatever you want. Then just dance. Whether that means rolling around on the floor or jumping around your room, let yourself move. You would be surprised at how helpful and fun it is.


I love dance with all my heart, and can’t express how much it has helped me over the years. It truly is an art form that allows you to heal and process. Dance is and always will be my escape.


bottom of page